idols

December 18, 2007 at 10:45 pm (Brokenness)

In talking with a friend at the current moment about one of the huge points of brokenness in my life, he brought up that I am holding this thing/person as an idol. This thought had never occurred to me before, but it is something that makes total sense when I think about it. Dr. Richard Kaufmann, movement leader at Harbor Presbyterian Church led the session Preparing & Preaching a Gospel Centered Message at the Acts 29 Regional Conference. In this session, he said that there are four idols that drive most people. These are power, control, approval, and comfort.

Which one do you seek? Oh I know which one I seek. If these things can be idols, then the person I was looking to to provide this idol is also one. Can I give up this idol of desperately wanting a person to like me, to want me to be a part of their life? What about, would I give up having a person like me in order to just be free from the emotional bondage that is associated with it? I’m scared to let it go, scared that upon letting it go, it will not exist anymore…that we have already said our last goodbye.

The danger with these idols is that idols always disappoint in so many ways, and have caused extreme hurt. They are weak: They can’t deliver when you succeed; they can only raise the bar. They can’t forgive you when you fail; they can only lower the boom.
They are harmful: They hurt you spiritually, emotionally and physically. They hurt others by undermining your ability to love.
They are Grievous: Most importantly, by going after these idols/other lovers you are saying to God: “Jesus is not enough. I also need _________ in order to be happy.

This is where we need to preach the gospel to ourselves daily. Preaching the gospel to others is easy, saying we live our lives so others can see the gospel through us, yeah, i can do that..but i forget the gospel in my own life. I let the idols of this world, the things I am allowing to try to fulfill me to take control, and when they hurt instead of fulfill, i am lost.

John writes in 1 John 5:20-21:   And we know that the Son of God has come and has given us understanding, so that we may know him who is true; and we are in him who is true, in his Son Jesus Christ. He is the true God and eternal life. Little children, keep yourselves from idols.

Leave a Reply

